- What the Certified Digital Forensics Examiner Credential Is
- Who Issues It and How the Exam Is Delivered
- Exam Format at a Glance
- The 17 Preparation Areas
- Skills the Material Emphasizes
- Prerequisites and Training Options
- Certification Validity and Renewal
- Who Hires Digital Forensics Examiners
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Frequently Asked Questions
- C)DFE here means Certified Digital Forensics Examiner, issued by Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute.
- The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in about 2 hours, with a 70% minimum passing score.
- Seventeen course modules define preparation scope, but no official weighted domain blueprint is published.
- The certification lasts 3 years; the published U.S. renewal fee is USD 200.
What the Certified Digital Forensics Examiner Credential Is
The Certified Digital Forensics Examiner credential, styled C)DFE (and sometimes written CDFE), is a vendor-issued certification from Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute. It validates that a candidate understands how to identify, acquire, preserve, examine, analyze, and report on digital evidence in a way that holds up to technical and legal scrutiny.
If you have searched for the acronym and found conflicting answers, that is because several unrelated credentials share similar lettering. This article covers only the Mile2 Certified Digital Forensics Examiner. For a quick definition-style overview, see What Does C)DFE Stand For? and C)DFE Meaning.
The credential sits in the practitioner tier of digital forensics: it is built around the full lifecycle of an investigation, from the first incident call through courtroom-ready documentation, rather than around a single tool or a single operating system.
Who Issues It and How the Exam Is Delivered
Mile2 delivers the exam through its own online learning management system (historically referred to as MACS) rather than through a named third-party testing-center network. In practice, that means you sit the exam online through your candidate account.
- Delivery: online and on-demand through the candidate account.
- Proctoring: Mile2's FAQ indicates that standard exams generally do not require a live-proctor appointment, and C)DFE is not identified among the FAQ's listed exceptions. Confirm the current policy when you register.
- Technical requirements: a current version of Chrome and a stable internet connection.
- Voucher validity: an exam voucher is valid for one year.
Because there is no fixed testing-window calendar in the usual sense, scheduling is more flexible than with center-based exams. The nuances are covered in C)DFE Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Exam Format at a Glance
| Element | What Mile2 Publishes |
|---|---|
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Time allowed | 2 hours (approximately), with no pause |
| Passing score | Minimum 70% |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Delivery | Online via the candidate's Mile2 account |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Practical component | Course labs support learning; no separately scored practical exam is established |
| Open-book, calculator, adaptive policies | Not officially verified |
Several details matter for planning. The test is entirely multiple choice, so you are not asked to produce a forensic image or write a report live. However, the questions test whether you understand the procedures behind those tasks. And because there is no pause function, you need to be comfortable working a full two-hour block without interruption.
Two items are worth being honest about: Mile2 does not publish a pass rate, and it does not disclose how many of the 100 questions are scored versus unscored. If you see a specific pass-rate figure quoted elsewhere, treat it skeptically. Our page on C)DFE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains what can and cannot be said, and C)DFE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass covers the 70% threshold in detail.
The 17 Preparation Areas
Mile2's current six-page course outline lays out 17 modules. These are best understood as unweighted preparation categories: the course prepares candidates for the exam, but the outline does not claim to be a weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint, and no numbered exam version or domain weights are verified. Do not assume any module is "worth more" than another. The full breakdown is in C)DFE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 17 Content Areas; here is how they group.
Foundations: incidents, theory, standards, and process
Domains 1-4: Incidents, Investigative Theory, Prerequisites & Standards, and the Investigative Process
These modules establish the vocabulary and discipline of the field.
- Computer Forensics Incidents: origins of digital forensic science, the legal system, types of cybercrime incidents, and internal versus external threats.
- Investigative Theory: investigative concepts, plus behavioral evidence analysis (BEA) and equivocal forensic analysis (EFA).
- Prerequisites and Standards: investigative prerequisites, scene management, and industry standards.
- Investigative Process: identification and scope, collection and preservation, examination, analysis and interpretation, documentation and interim reporting, and quality control and review.
Evidence handling, tools, and storage
Domains 5-8: Evidence Protocols, Tools, Disks & Storage, and Live Acquisitions
This is where procedure meets technology.
- Examination/Evidence Protocols: science applied to forensics, digital evidence categories, and evidence admissibility.
- Acquisition and Analysis Tools: acquisition procedures, the computer forensics field triage process model (CFFTPM), evidence authentication, forensic tools, and AI and forensics.
- Disks and Storages: disk operating systems and filesystems, spinning-disk forensics, SSD forensics (with IoT mentioned), cloud storage, and handling damaged drives.
- Live Acquisitions: live acquisition concepts, plus Windows, macOS, Linux/UNIX, and cloud/virtualization acquisition.
Operating-system and artifact analysis
Domains 9-13: Windows, Linux, macOS, Specialized Artifacts, and Search Techniques
The platform-specific core of the credential.
- Windows Forensics: the Windows Event Viewer, EVTX and EVT logs, and log analysis to identify breaches and attacks.
- Linux Forensics: file system structure, basic identifiers, and common log files.
- MAC Forensics: OSX artifacts, file system structure, default apps, and other artifacts.
- Specialized Artifact Recovery: Windows components of investigative interest, files containing historical information, web forensics, and memory forensics.
- Advanced Search Strings and File Signatures: search strings, regular expressions (REGEX), and file signatures including formats, headers, and hex analysis.
Mobile, legal discovery, lab operations, and reporting
Domains 14-17: Mobile Forensics, eDiscovery, Laboratory Protocols, and Evidence Presentation
The back end of the investigation, where findings must survive challenge.
- Mobile Forensics: the forensic process, tools, IoT and wearables, and legal considerations.
- eDiscovery: the discipline itself, laws and regulations, and the eDiscovery process.
- Computer Forensic Laboratory Protocols: workstation preparation, lab standard operating procedures, quality assurance, quality control, peer review, annual review, deviations, and lab intake.
- Digital Evidence Presentation and Reporting: the best evidence rule, hearsay, authenticity and alteration, and report sections and content.
Skills the Material Emphasizes
Reading across the 17 modules, a few themes recur and are worth treating as the real "spine" of the credential.
Evidence integrity
From scene management to evidence authentication to the lab's peer review and deviation handling, the modules keep returning to one question: can you prove the evidence is what you say it is and has not been altered? Expect scenario questions about preservation order, authentication, and what makes evidence admissible or vulnerable to challenge.
Platform breadth
Unlike credentials focused on a single operating system, this one expects working familiarity with Windows, Linux, and macOS artifacts, plus cloud storage and mobile. The course material references published training context such as NIST SP 800-101 and ISO/IEC 27037 and a number of commercial tools; treat those as study context rather than a promise of which specific tool versions or capabilities will be tested.
Process discipline over tool trivia
Because the modules are organized around phases (identification, collection, examination, analysis, documentation, review), the best preparation is to be able to explain why each step happens in its order and what goes wrong when it is skipped.
Prerequisites and Training Options
The entry barrier is deliberately low. Mile2 suggests one year of computer experience, along with its C)SP course and Foundational Course Pack as background. There is no mandatory degree, no verified employment-hour threshold, and no references requirement. Crucially, the sponsor allows you to purchase the exam without taking the training. The complete picture is laid out in C)DFE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
If you do choose the optional training, Mile2's five-day course earns 40 CEUs and includes 17 labs. Those labs support learning; they do not establish a separately scored practical exam, and the five-day format describes the class, not the exam's duration or weighting. For options and trade-offs, see C)DFE Training.
| Path | Best For | Trade-off |
|---|---|---|
| Exam only | Practitioners who already do forensic work | You supply all structure and lab practice yourself |
| Exam plus self-study | IT or security staff moving into forensics | Requires discipline across all 17 areas |
| Five-day course plus exam | Newer entrants wanting guided labs | Higher total cost; earns 40 CEUs |
Certification Validity and Renewal
The certification is valid for 3 years. Mile2's renewal policy offers several routes: documenting 60 CEUs over the cycle, acknowledging ethics and policies and paying the fee, or pursuing a qualifying examination-based renewal. The published renewal fee is USD 200 for the U.S. region, and potentially USD 100 for eligible developing regions.
Who Hires Digital Forensics Examiners
Digital forensics skills are in demand wherever organizations must investigate incidents or defend findings in a dispute. Typical employers and roles include:
- Corporate security and incident response teams investigating internal misuse, data theft, and breaches.
- Law enforcement and government agencies handling cybercrime and evidence for prosecution.
- Legal and eDiscovery service providers that collect and process electronically stored information for litigation.
- Consulting and managed security firms offering forensic and incident response services.
The modules on eDiscovery, evidence presentation, and laboratory protocols make the credential particularly relevant to roles that straddle technical analysis and legal process. Whether it translates to better pay or promotion depends on your market and employer; we discuss that without invented figures in C)DFE Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, and weigh the investment in Is the C)DFE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026. For role-focused detail, see C)DFE Jobs.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Because Mile2 publishes no domain weights, a sensible plan gives every module real attention, and orders them so that foundational concepts come before the technical artifact work that depends on them. A candidate with some IT background might structure it like this:
Process, law, and standards
- Incidents, investigative theory, prerequisites, and the six-phase process.
- Evidence protocols, admissibility, and the best evidence rule, since they frame everything later.
Acquisition and storage
- Acquisition procedures, CFFTPM, authentication, and tools.
- Disks, filesystems, SSDs, cloud storage, damaged drives, and live acquisition across operating systems.
Platform artifacts and search
- Windows event logs, Linux and macOS artifacts, web and memory forensics.
- REGEX, search strings, and file signature and hex analysis.
Mobile, eDiscovery, lab, and reporting
- Mobile, IoT, and wearables; eDiscovery laws and process.
- Lab SOPs, QA/QC, peer review, hearsay, authenticity, and report structure, then full practice exams.
The reasoning: legal and procedural concepts show up in many scenario questions regardless of platform, so learning them first makes the later technical modules easier to contextualize. Finish with timed, full-length practice under the same no-pause conditions you will face on exam day. For a fuller plan, see C)DFE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt and the condensed C)DFE Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts. To gauge the challenge honestly, read How Hard Is the C)DFE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Key Takeaway
Treat all 17 modules as in scope. With no published weights, a lopsided plan that skips mobile, eDiscovery, or lab protocols is a gamble. Use our C)DFE practice tests to find which areas need more work before you sit the real exam.
Frequently Asked Questions
Here it stands for Certified Digital Forensics Examiner, a credential issued by Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute. The same lettering is used by other, unrelated credentials, so confirm you are looking at the Mile2 program. See also What Is C)DFE?.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, runs about two hours with no pause, and requires a minimum score of 70%. Mile2 does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored.
No. Mile2 allows candidates to purchase the exam without the training. The suggested background is about one year of computer experience, the C)SP course, and the Foundational Course Pack, but these are suggestions rather than mandatory prerequisites.
The published exam description is 100 multiple-choice questions. The course includes 17 labs for learning, but nothing establishes a separately scored practical examination.
It is valid for 3 years. The published renewal fee is USD 200 for the U.S. region and potentially USD 100 for eligible developing regions. Renewal routes include documented CEUs, a policy acknowledgment with fee, or a qualifying exam-based option, so verify the current policy before your expiration.