C)DFE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

C)DFE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • Mile2 sets no mandatory degree, verified work-hour threshold or references for the Certified Digital Forensics Examiner exam.
  • The sponsor allows you to buy the exam without taking its training course.
  • The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours with a 70% minimum passing score.
  • The certification is valid for 3 years; renewal paths include 60 documented CEUs, an ethics acknowledgment and a fee.

What the C)DFE Credential Actually Is

In this article, C)DFE means one thing: the Certified Digital Forensics Examiner credential from Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute, also written CDFE. Other credentials in the industry share similar acronyms, so before you plan anything, confirm that the exam you are researching is the Mile2 one. Eligibility rules, fees and content differ completely between issuers, and mixing them up is the fastest way to waste money.

If you are new to the credential, the explainers on what C)DFE certification is and what C)DFE stands for cover the background. This article focuses on a narrower question: what do you need in order to sit the exam, and how do you put yourself in a position to pass it?

What Mile2 Formally Requires

The short version is that the formal gate is low. Based on the sponsor's published materials, there is:

  • No mandatory degree. A college or university credential is not listed as a condition of testing.
  • No verified employment-hour threshold. You are not asked to document a set number of years or hours in a forensics role.
  • No references requirement. There is no sponsor or endorsement process before you can test.
  • No mandatory training purchase. Mile2 allows the exam to be bought without the course.
Requirements vs. readiness: A low formal barrier does not mean a low-effort exam. The absence of prerequisites shifts responsibility to you. Nobody screens whether you can explain chain of custody, read a Windows event log or reason about the best evidence rule, yet the exam will test exactly that kind of material. See how hard the C)DFE exam is for a fuller discussion of difficulty.

Suggested Background vs. Hard Requirements

Mile2 does publish a suggested background, and it is worth distinguishing from the requirements above. The sponsor suggests:

  • At least one year of computer experience.
  • Completion of the C)SP course (Mile2's security-fundamentals entry point).
  • The Foundational Course Pack.

These are recommendations, not enforced checkpoints. In practice they describe the minimum comfort level the course assumes: you can navigate operating systems, understand file systems at a basic level, and recognize common security terminology. If you have no hands-on time with Windows, Linux or macOS, the 17-module outline will feel steep, especially the modules on disks, live acquisition and operating-system artifacts.

Optional training and what it earns

Mile2 also offers an optional five-day course. Completing it earns 40 CEUs, which is a training credit and should not be confused with exam length or exam weighting. The course includes seventeen labs that support learning, but those labs do not establish a separately scored practical examination. The certification exam itself is the multiple-choice test described below.

Exam Format and Delivery Mechanics

Qualifying means passing the exam, so you should understand what it looks like before you pay for it.

ElementWhat the sponsor publishes
Question typeMultiple choice
Number of questions100 (scored/unscored split undisclosed)
Time limit2 hours, with no pause
Minimum passing score70%
DeliveryOnline and on-demand through your Mile2 account
Browser/connectionCurrent Chrome and a stable internet connection
ProctoringStandard exams generally do not require a live-proctor appointment; C)DFE is not named among the FAQ's exceptions
Candidate pass rateNot publicly disclosed

A few policies are not officially verified, including whether the exam is open-book, whether a calculator is permitted and whether the test is adaptive. Do not assume any of these; check the current Mile2 instructions in your candidate account before exam day. For score details, see the C)DFE passing score guide, and for scheduling logistics see C)DFE exam dates and scheduling. Because delivery is on-demand through the sponsor's learning platform rather than a fixed testing-center calendar, your effective deadline is usually your voucher's validity window rather than a published exam date.

No pause means no pause: Two hours for 100 questions averages roughly 72 seconds per question. Because you cannot stop the clock, test your internet connection and browser before you begin, and close anything that might interrupt your session.

Fees, Vouchers and Bundles

Money is part of qualifying, so here is what can and cannot be stated with confidence.

  • Mile2's sponsor-authored Udemy description, updated January 2026, states USD 400 for the exam. The current direct U.S. checkout price was not exposed and remains unconfirmed, so verify it at checkout.
  • No member versus non-member price split is published.
  • The current FAQ says the Exam Combo includes a guide, a practice simulator and two attempts. Do not substitute reseller package prices for the sponsor's own offer.
  • An exam voucher is valid for one year from purchase, which sets the practical window in which you need to test.

For a wider look at what you may spend across exam, training and renewal, read the C)DFE certification cost breakdown.

Readiness Check: The 17 Preparation Areas

Mile2's current six-page outline lists 17 course modules. No numbered exam version or weighted exam domains have been verified, so treat these as unweighted preparation scope rather than an official blueprint. The highest-weighted area is unknown, which means you should avoid skipping any module on the assumption that it is minor. The full list is explored in the C)DFE exam domains guide. Here is a practical way to self-assess against them.

Foundations: Domains 1-5

These cover Computer Forensics Incidents, Computer Forensic Investigative Theory, Computer Forensic Prerequisites and Standards, Computer Forensic Investigative Process, and Forensic Examination/Evidence Protocols.

  • Cybercrime incident types and internal versus external threats
  • Behavioral evidence analysis and equivocal forensic analysis
  • Scene management and industry standards
  • The investigative process from identification and scope through collection, preservation, examination, analysis, documentation and quality control
  • Digital evidence categories and evidence admissibility

Acquisition and Storage: Domains 6-8

These cover Digital Acquisition and Analysis Tools, Disks and Storages, and Live Acquisitions.

  • Acquisition procedures, the field triage process model and evidence authentication
  • Spinning disk and SSD forensics, cloud storage and handling damaged drives
  • Live acquisition on Windows, macOS, Linux/UNIX and cloud or virtualized environments

Platform Artifacts: Domains 9-13

These cover Windows Forensics, Linux Forensics, MAC Forensics, Specialized Artifact Recovery, and Advanced Search Strings and File Signatures.

  • Windows Event Viewer, EVTX and EVT logs, and log analysis to identify breaches
  • Linux file system structure, identifiers and common log files
  • macOS file system structure, default apps and other artifacts
  • Web and memory forensics and files containing historical information
  • Search strings, regular expressions, file signatures, headers and hex analysis

Specialties, Lab and Courtroom: Domains 14-17

These cover Mobile Forensics, eDiscovery, Computer Forensic Laboratory Protocols, and Digital Evidence Presentation and Reporting.

  • Mobile forensic process, tools, IoT and wearables, and legal considerations
  • eDiscovery laws, regulations and process
  • Workstation preparation, lab standard operating procedures, quality assurance, peer review and lab intake
  • The best evidence rule, hearsay, authenticity and alteration, and report sections and content

The outline references standards such as NIST 800-101 and ISO/IEC 27037, along with commercial tools, as training context. Learn the concepts they illustrate rather than memorizing assumptions about specific revisions or current tool features.

A Qualification Plan Built Around the Outline

Since formal prerequisites are minimal, your real task is closing knowledge gaps. One way to sequence the material is to start with concepts that later modules rely on, then move to hands-on artifacts, then finish with legal presentation and lab protocol.

Weeks 1-2

Concepts and process

  • Work through Domains 1-5 first; the investigative process in Domain 4 gives you the vocabulary every later module reuses
  • Be able to explain admissibility and evidence categories in your own words
Weeks 3-4

Acquisition and storage

  • Cover Domains 6-8, pairing tools and procedures with the storage technologies they apply to
  • Compare live acquisition steps across Windows, macOS, Linux and cloud
Weeks 5-6

Artifacts and signatures

  • Spend extra time on Domains 9-13; they are hands-on and detail-heavy
  • Practice reading file headers and writing simple regular expressions
Week 7

Specialties, lab and reporting

  • Finish Domains 14-17, then take timed practice sets that mix all 17 areas

Adjust the pacing to your background. A practitioner who already works with Windows logs daily can compress the Windows material and spend longer on eDiscovery or lab protocols. A full walkthrough lives in the C)DFE study guide, and the C)DFE cheat sheet is useful for a final-days review. When you are ready to test yourself under timed conditions, the practice tests mirror the multiple-choice format.

Key Takeaway

Because Mile2 does not enforce prerequisites, build your own checkpoint: if you cannot explain each of the 17 module headings without notes, you are not yet exam-ready, regardless of how many years you have worked in IT.

Keeping the Credential After You Pass

Qualification is not permanent. The certification is valid for 3 years, and the sponsor's current renewal policy describes these routes:

  • 60 documented CEUs over the cycle, an ethics and policies acknowledgment, and a fee; or
  • A qualifying examination-based renewal route.

The published renewal fee is USD 200 for the U.S. region, and potentially USD 100 for eligible developing regions.

Note that the course PDF words renewal differently: it lists a three-year expiration with two requirements, passing the current exam and submitting 20 CEUs per year. Because the two sources are worded differently, check the current renewal policy with Mile2 before planning. Do not assume that the 40 CEUs from the five-day course alone will renew your credential.

Who Benefits From Qualifying

The low barrier to entry makes the credential accessible to several groups: IT staff moving toward incident response, security analysts who handle evidence, corporate investigators, and legal or compliance professionals who work with eDiscovery. The module list reflects that mix, since it spans lab procedure, mobile devices, cloud storage and courtroom presentation. To weigh whether it fits your path, see C)DFE jobs, the C)DFE salary guide and the C)DFE ROI analysis. Remember that a certification complements, rather than replaces, demonstrated skill with evidence handling and documentation.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a degree or work experience to take the C)DFE exam?

No. Mile2 does not require a degree, a verified number of employment hours or references. It does suggest about one year of computer experience, the C)SP course and the Foundational Course Pack as helpful background.

Can I buy the exam without taking the training course?

Yes. The sponsor allows the exam to be purchased on its own. The optional five-day course earns 40 CEUs but is not a condition of testing.

What is the format and passing score?

The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, a 2-hour limit with no pause, and a minimum 70% passing score. The scored versus unscored split is not disclosed, and the candidate pass rate is not publicly available. See the C)DFE pass rate article for what can and cannot be said about it.

Do I have to schedule a live proctored appointment?

Standard Mile2 exams generally do not require a live-proctor appointment, and C)DFE is not identified among the FAQ's exceptions. You take it online through your candidate account using current Chrome and a stable connection.

How long does the certification last and what does renewal involve?

The certification is valid for 3 years. Renewal can involve 60 documented CEUs, an ethics and policies acknowledgment and a fee, or a qualifying examination-based route. The published fee is USD 200 for the U.S. region, so confirm current terms with Mile2 before your cycle ends.

Ready to pass your C)DFE exam?

Put this into practice with free C)DFE questions across every exam domain.