- What the Letters Actually Mean
- Why the Right Parenthesis Sits After the C
- Who Issues the Credential
- What "Examiner" Means in Practice
- The Seventeen Preparation Areas Behind the Title
- Exam Format at a Glance
- Registration, Fees and Renewal Mechanics
- Who the Title Fits and Where It Gets Used
- Turning the Meaning Into a Prep Order
- Frequently Asked Questions
- C)DFE stands for Certified Digital Forensics Examiner, a credential issued by Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute.
- The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours, with a minimum 70% passing score.
- Mile2's current outline lists 17 modules, but no verified weighted domain blueprint exists.
- Certification validity is 3 years; renewal paths include documented CEUs, an acknowledgment and fee, or re-examination.
What the Letters Actually Mean
C)DFE stands for Certified Digital Forensics Examiner. Each word in the title carries a specific claim. "Certified" means a sponsor has tested you against a defined body of knowledge. "Digital Forensics" places the work in the recovery, preservation, analysis and presentation of electronic evidence. "Examiner" names the role: the person who inspects media and artifacts, interprets what they show, and documents findings in a way that survives scrutiny.
If you are looking for a quick definition, the shorter explainers on what C)DFE is and what C)DFE stands for cover the basics. This article goes further, unpacking what the title implies about the knowledge a candidate must hold.
Why the Right Parenthesis Sits After the C
The unusual punctuation is a branding convention. Mile2 styles its credentials with a closing parenthesis after the leading letter, so you will see C)DFE in official materials. Plain-text variations such as CDFE appear too, and you will find both spellings across search results and job postings. They refer to the same Mile2 credential when the full name is Certified Digital Forensics Examiner.
Who Issues the Credential
The certifying body is Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute. The exam is delivered online through the candidate's account on Mile2's own learning management system, historically referred to as MACS, rather than through a named third-party testing-center network. Standard Mile2 exams generally do not require a live-proctor appointment, and C)DFE is not identified among the exceptions in the sponsor's FAQ. Candidates need a current Chrome browser and a stable internet connection.
That delivery model shapes the experience: there is no drive to a test center, but you are responsible for your own connection and browser readiness for a 2-hour sitting with no pause.
What "Examiner" Means in Practice
An examiner is not simply someone who runs a tool and exports a report. Mile2's course outline treats the role as a chain of responsibilities: understand the incident type, follow investigative theory, meet prerequisites and standards, work through a defined process (identification and scope, collection and preservation, examination, analysis and interpretation, documentation, quality control), and then present evidence in a form that a court or counsel can rely on.
Notice how much of that chain is non-technical. Evidence admissibility, the best evidence rule, hearsay, authenticity and alteration all sit alongside Windows event logs and file-signature analysis. The title "Examiner" signals that you can defend your method, not just execute it.
The Seventeen Preparation Areas Behind the Title
Mile2's current six-page outline organizes preparation into 17 course modules. These headings are unweighted preparation categories, not an official weighted blueprint, and the highest-weighted area is not published. For a deeper walk through each one, see the complete guide to all 17 C)DFE content areas. The grouping below shows how they cluster conceptually.
Foundations: incidents, theory and standards
Domains 1-3: Incidents, Investigative Theory, Prerequisites and Standards
These modules establish the vocabulary and the "why" of the discipline.
- Origins of digital forensic science, the legal system, types of cybercrime incidents, and internal versus external threats
- Investigative theory and concepts, including behavioral evidence analysis (BEA) and equivocal forensic analysis (EFA)
- Investigative prerequisites, scene management and industry standards (the outline references NIST 800-101 and ISO/IEC 27037 as training context)
Process and protocols
Domains 4-6: Investigative Process, Evidence Protocols, Acquisition and Analysis Tools
This is the procedural spine of the credential.
- The process stages: identification and scope, collection and preservation, examination, analysis and interpretation, documentation and interim reporting, quality control and review
- Science applied to forensics, digital evidence categories and evidence admissibility
- Acquisition procedures, the computer forensics field triage process model (CFFTPM), evidence authentication, forensic tools, and AI and forensics
Storage, live systems and operating systems
Domains 7-11: Disks and Storages, Live Acquisitions, Windows, Linux and MAC Forensics
Here the examiner works with real media and real platforms.
- Disk operating systems and filesystems, spinning disk and SSD forensics, cloud storage, and handling damaged drives
- Live acquisition across Windows, macOS, Linux/UNIX and cloud/virtualization environments
- Windows Event Viewer, EVTX and EVT logs, and log analysis to identify breaches and attacks
- Linux artifacts: file system structure, basic identifiers and common log files
- macOS artifacts: file system structure, default apps and other artifacts
Specialized skills and the courtroom end
Domains 12-17: Artifact Recovery, Search Strings, Mobile, eDiscovery, Lab Protocols, Presentation
The final cluster covers precision techniques and professional delivery.
- Specialized artifact recovery: Windows components of investigative interest, files containing historical information, web forensics and memory forensics
- Search strings, regular expressions, and file signatures including formats, headers and hex analysis
- Mobile forensics: process, tools, IoT and wearables, and legal considerations
- eDiscovery: laws and regulations and the eDiscovery process
- Laboratory protocols: workstation preparation, standard operating procedures, quality assurance and control, peer review, annual review, deviations and lab intake
- Evidence presentation: the best evidence rule, hearsay, authenticity and alteration, and report sections and content
Exam Format at a Glance
| Attribute | What Mile2 States |
|---|---|
| Issuer | Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute |
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Time limit | 2 hours, no pause |
| Minimum passing score | 70% |
| Delivery | Online through the candidate's Mile2 LMS account; current Chrome and stable internet required |
| Scored versus unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Published pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Open-book, calculator, adaptive policies | Not officially verified |
| Practical component | Course labs support learning; no separately scored practical exam is established |
Because the format is multiple-choice, the exam rewards precise recall of procedure and terminology, plus the judgment to pick the best answer among plausible options. Our passing score breakdown explains what the 70% threshold means across 100 questions, and the pass rate article explains why no pass-rate figure should be quoted as fact.
Registration, Fees and Renewal Mechanics
Understanding the title also means understanding the commitment behind it. Here is what the sponsor's materials support.
- Exam price: Mile2's sponsor-authored Udemy description, updated January 2026, states USD 400 for the exam. The current direct U.S. checkout price was not exposed in the sources reviewed, so confirm it at purchase. No member/non-member split is published.
- Exam Combo: The current FAQ says the combo includes a guide, a practice simulator and two attempts. Reseller package prices should not be treated as the sponsor's price.
- Voucher validity: One year.
- Training is optional: The sponsor allows exam purchase without the course. The optional five-day course earns 40 CEUs, but those describe training, not exam length or weighting.
- Suggested background: One year of computer experience, the C)SP course and the Foundational Course Pack. There is no mandatory degree, verified employment-hour threshold or references requirement.
For a fuller money breakdown, see the C)DFE certification cost guide, and for prerequisites see C)DFE requirements.
Renewal: two sources, worded differently
The certification is valid for 3 years. The course PDF lists a three-year expiration with two requirements: passing the current exam and submitting 20 CEUs per year. Separately, the sponsor's renewal-policy summary describes renewal through 60 documented CEUs over the cycle, an ethics/policies acknowledgment and a fee, or a qualifying examination-based route. The published renewal fee is USD 200 for the U.S. region and potentially USD 100 for eligible developing regions.
These differently worded sources should be kept distinct, and the current renewal policy should be verified with Mile2 before you plan. Do not assume that the 40 CEUs from the five-day course alone renew the credential.
Key Takeaway
Budget for the whole lifecycle, not just the first exam: the initial exam price, a possible retake, and the renewal fee at the three-year mark. Check Mile2's current renewal page when your cycle begins.
Who the Title Fits and Where It Gets Used
The credential's content points to a clear set of roles: people who collect and examine digital evidence, support incident response, assist investigations, or work in laboratory and eDiscovery environments. The outline's emphasis on chain of custody concepts, lab quality control, peer review, and report writing suits analysts who must hand work to attorneys, auditors, or law-enforcement partners.
Typical settings include corporate security and incident response teams, internal investigations and HR-related inquiries, legal and eDiscovery support, consulting practices, and public-sector investigative units. We do not publish hiring-volume or earnings figures for this credential because none are verified; the C)DFE jobs overview, the salary guide and the ROI analysis discuss the question qualitatively.
How it differs from training alone
Because Mile2 sells the exam separately from the course, holding C)DFE signals that you passed an assessment, not merely that you attended class. If you want a structured path, see our notes on C)DFE training. If you already work in forensics, you may decide the exam alone is enough.
Turning the Meaning Into a Prep Order
Since the title describes an end-to-end examiner, a sensible study sequence follows the examiner's own workflow rather than the module numbers alone. The short plan below ties each phase to specific modules. For a longer plan, read the C)DFE study guide.
Frame the discipline
- Incident types, legal system basics, investigative theory including BEA and EFA
- Prerequisites, scene management and the standards referenced in training
Master the process and evidence rules
- The seven-stage investigative process from identification through quality review
- Evidence categories, admissibility, acquisition procedures and the field triage model
Platform and storage depth
- Filesystems, spinning disks versus SSDs, damaged drives, cloud storage
- Live acquisition, Windows event logs, Linux and macOS artifacts
Specialized techniques and the courtroom end
- Memory and web forensics, regex, file signatures and hex, mobile and IoT
- eDiscovery, lab protocols, hearsay, best evidence rule and report structure
Finish by drilling mixed-domain questions under a 2-hour clock, because the real sitting cannot be paused. Use the C)DFE practice tests to rehearse that pacing, and keep the one-page cheat sheet for last-day review. If you are unsure about scheduling, read the exam dates guide, and compare other explainers like what C)DFE means and the C)DFE certification overview for additional context.
Frequently Asked Questions
C)DFE stands for Certified Digital Forensics Examiner. It is a credential issued by Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute, styled with a closing parenthesis after the C, and sometimes written plainly as CDFE.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, a 2-hour limit with no pause, and a minimum passing score of 70%. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.
No. Mile2 allows the exam to be purchased without training. The five-day course is optional and earns 40 CEUs, though those CEUs describe training and are not an exam requirement or a substitute for renewal rules.
They are the 17 modules of the current Mile2 course outline and serve as unweighted preparation categories. No verified numbered exam version or weighted domain blueprint has been published, so treat all 17 as in scope.
Certification is valid for 3 years. The published renewal fee is USD 200 for the U.S. region, potentially USD 100 for eligible developing regions. Renewal routes include documented CEUs, an ethics acknowledgment and fee, or re-examination, so verify current policy with Mile2.