C)DFE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is A C)DFE?

TL;DR
  • C)DFE means Certified Digital Forensics Examiner, issued by Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute.
  • The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in about two hours, with a 70% minimum passing score.
  • Delivery is online through your Mile2 account; the exam can be purchased without taking the training.
  • Mile2's outline lists 17 course modules, but no official weighted exam blueprint is published.

The Short Answer: What a C)DFE Actually Is

C)DFE stands for Certified Digital Forensics Examiner. It is a certification offered by Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute, written either as C)DFE (Mile2's official styling) or simply CDFE. It validates that a candidate understands how digital evidence is identified, acquired, preserved, examined, interpreted and ultimately presented in a way that holds up to scrutiny.

If you have seen other credentials that happen to share a similar acronym, set them aside. This article concerns only the Mile2 Certified Digital Forensics Examiner, and everything below is drawn from Mile2's own published course outline and certification information. For related explainers on the name itself, see What Does C)DFE Stand For? and C)DFE Meaning.

Why the distinction matters: Digital forensics is a field with several overlapping certifications from different bodies. Costs, exam formats, domain weights and renewal rules differ between them. When comparing options or reading forum advice, confirm that the numbers you see refer to the Mile2 credential before acting on them.

Who Issues It and How the Exam Is Delivered

Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute is both the training provider and the certifying body. Rather than sending candidates to a named third-party testing-center vendor, Mile2 delivers its exams through its own online learning management system, historically known as MACS. You take the exam online through your candidate account.

Practical implications for candidates:

  • Online and on-demand: Standard Mile2 exams generally do not require booking a live-proctor appointment, and C)DFE is not identified among the exceptions in Mile2's FAQ. Confirm the current rule in your account before test day.
  • Technical requirements: A current version of Chrome and a stable internet connection are required. Test your setup in advance rather than discovering a problem mid-exam.
  • Training is optional: Mile2 allows the exam to be purchased without the course, which makes self-study a legitimate path for experienced practitioners.

For scheduling specifics, our guide to C)DFE exam dates and scheduling covers how the on-demand model affects planning.

Exam Format at a Glance

ElementWhat Mile2 Publishes
Question count100 multiple-choice questions
Time allowedApproximately 2 hours, with no pause
Minimum passing score70%
DeliveryOnline via your Mile2 account
Scored vs. unscored splitNot disclosed
Published pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Open-book, calculator and adaptive policiesNot officially verified
Separate scored practical examNone established; course labs are training

Because the two-hour clock cannot be paused, you have roughly a minute and a few seconds per question on average. That is comfortable for candidates who know the material and punishing for those who must reason from scratch about concepts such as hearsay, file signatures or live acquisition order of volatility. Details on the threshold appear in our C)DFE passing score guide, and an honest difficulty assessment is in How Hard Is the C)DFE Exam?. On pass rates, our pass-rate analysis explains why no trustworthy figure exists.

What the Credential Covers: 17 Preparation Modules

Mile2's current six-page course outline lays out 17 modules. These are best understood as unweighted preparation categories: the course prepares you for the C)DFE exam, but Mile2 has not published an official weighted exam blueprint, and the highest-weighted area is not known. Treat all 17 as fair game and avoid any guide that claims to know exact percentages. The full breakdown lives in our C)DFE exam domains guide; here is the landscape in grouped form.

Foundations: incidents, theory, standards and process

Domains 1-4: Incidents, Theory, Prerequisites and the Investigative Process

These modules establish how an investigation is framed before any tool is touched.

  • Computer Forensics Incidents: origins of digital forensic science, the legal system, types of cybercrime incidents, and internal versus external threats.
  • Computer Forensic Investigative Theory: investigative theory and concepts, plus behavioral evidence analysis (BEA) and equivocal forensic analysis (EFA).
  • Computer Forensic Prerequisites and Standards: investigative prerequisites, scene management and industry standards.
  • Computer Forensic Investigative Process: identification and scope, collection and preservation, examination, analysis and interpretation, documentation and interim reporting, and quality control and review.

Expect questions that test whether you can place an activity in the right phase of the process. Knowing that preservation precedes examination, and that documentation runs throughout, is more valuable than memorizing tool menus.

Evidence, acquisition and storage

Domains 5-8: Evidence Protocols, Tools, Storage and Live Acquisition

This cluster is the technical heart of evidence handling.

  • Forensic Examination/Evidence Protocols: science applied to forensics, digital evidence categories and evidence admissibility.
  • Digital Acquisition and Analysis Tools: acquisition procedures, the computer forensics field triage process model (CFFTPM), evidence authentication, forensic tools, and AI and forensics.
  • Disks and Storages: disk, OS and filesystems; spinning-disk forensics; SSD forensics (with IoT mentioned); cloud storage; handling damaged drives.
  • Live Acquisitions: live acquisition concepts, then Windows, macOS, Linux/UNIX and cloud/virtualization acquisition.

The outline references published training context such as NIST 800-101 and ISO/IEC 27037 alongside commercial tools. Know the purpose of such standards and the reasoning behind a given acquisition method; do not assume any particular tool version or capability will be tested.

Operating-system and artifact forensics

Domains 9-13: Windows, Linux, Mac, Specialized Artifacts, Search Strings

Here the exam moves into what examiners actually find on a system.

  • Windows Forensics: Event Viewer overview, EVTX and EVT logs, and log analysis to identify breaches and attacks.
  • Linux Forensics: file system structure, basic identifiers and common log files.
  • MAC Forensics: OSX file system structure, default apps and other artifacts.
  • Specialized Artifact Recovery: Windows components of investigative interest, files containing historical information, web forensics and memory forensics.
  • Advanced Search Strings and File Signatures: search strings, regular expressions (REGEX), and file signatures including formats, headers and hex analysis.

Candidates who come from a Windows-heavy background often underestimate the Linux and Mac modules. Because the outline gives each operating system its own module, balanced coverage is safer than leaning on your strongest platform.

Mobile, eDiscovery, lab practice and reporting

Domains 14-17: Mobile, eDiscovery, Lab Protocols, Evidence Presentation

The final modules connect technical findings to legal and organizational reality.

  • Mobile Forensics: the forensic process, tools, IoT and wearables, and legal considerations.
  • eDiscovery: the discipline itself, laws and regulations, and the eDiscovery process.
  • Computer Forensic Laboratory Protocols: workstation preparation, lab standard operating procedures, quality assurance, quality control, peer review, annual review, deviations and lab intake.
  • Digital Evidence Presentation and Reporting: the best evidence rule, hearsay, authenticity and alteration, and report sections and content.
Don't skip the "soft" modules: Because no weighting is published, the legal and procedural modules (admissibility, hearsay, best evidence, lab quality control) carry equal standing with technical ones in your preparation. Many technically strong candidates lose points here simply because they never studied them.

Training Labs vs. the Scored Exam

Mile2's optional five-day course earns 40 CEUs and includes 17 labs that support learning. It is important to read that accurately: the labs are part of the training, and nothing in the published materials establishes a separately scored practical examination. The credential exam is the 100-question multiple-choice test. The five-day class length and the 40 CEUs describe training, not exam duration or content weighting.

That has a study consequence. You should absolutely practice with real artifacts, but your ultimate readiness test is answering scenario-based multiple-choice questions accurately under time pressure. The C)DFE practice test platform is built around that format, and the C)DFE study guide shows how to combine lab familiarity with question practice.

Prerequisites and Who Should Consider It

Mile2 suggests a modest background: about one year of computer experience, plus the C)SP course and Foundational Course Pack as helpful preparation. These are suggestions, not gates. There is no mandatory degree, no verified employment-hour threshold and no reference requirement, and the exam may be bought without the training. Our C)DFE requirements guide walks through eligibility in more detail.

The credential is a reasonable fit for:

  • IT and security staff who are being pulled into incident response and evidence handling.
  • Aspiring forensic analysts who want a structured, standards-aware vocabulary of the field.
  • Legal, compliance and eDiscovery professionals who need to understand how digital evidence is collected and authenticated.
  • Law-enforcement-adjacent personnel seeking a documented baseline in forensic process and reporting.

Fees, Voucher Validity and Renewal

Mile2's sponsor-authored Udemy description, updated January 2026, states USD 400 for the exam. The current direct U.S. checkout price was not exposed and should be treated as unconfirmed, and there is no published member/non-member price split. Mile2's FAQ describes an Exam Combo that includes a guide, a practice simulator and two attempts; do not rely on reseller package prices when budgeting. Exam vouchers are valid for one year. For a fuller budget view, read the C)DFE certification cost breakdown.

ItemDetail
Certification validity3 years
Voucher validity1 year
Renewal route (policy summary)60 documented CEUs over the cycle, ethics/policies acknowledgment and fee, or a qualifying examination-based route
Published renewal feeUSD 200 for the U.S. region; potentially USD 100 for eligible developing regions
Two renewal descriptions exist: The course PDF lists a three-year expiration with two requirements: passing the current exam and submitting 20 CEUs per year. The separate current renewal policy describes the 60-CEU route above. These are worded differently, so check Mile2's current policy before planning. Also note that the 40 CEUs from the five-day course alone should not be assumed to renew the credential.

Who Hires Digital Forensics Examiners

Demand for forensic skills cuts across sectors rather than sitting in one department. Typical employers and engagement settings include:

  • Corporate security and incident response teams investigating insider activity, policy violations and breaches.
  • Consulting and digital forensics firms supporting litigation, regulatory inquiries and breach response.
  • Law firms and eDiscovery providers that need defensible collection, authentication and production of electronic evidence.
  • Government and law-enforcement-related agencies working criminal and civil matters, including mobile and cloud evidence.

Whether the credential moves the needle depends on role and employer, and we deliberately avoid quoting income figures we cannot verify. For analysis of earning potential and return on investment, see our C)DFE salary guide, the worth-it ROI analysis and the overview of C)DFE jobs.

Sequencing Your Preparation

Since all 17 modules are unweighted, a sensible plan front-loads the conceptual framework that later modules depend on, then layers platform-specific forensics, and finishes with legal and reporting material plus timed practice. One possible arrangement:

Weeks 1-2

Frameworks first

  • Modules 1-5: incidents, investigative theory, standards, the six-stage process and admissibility.
  • Reason: the process vocabulary (identification through quality control) reappears in nearly every later module.
Weeks 3-4

Acquisition and storage

  • Modules 6-8: tools, CFFTPM, disks, SSDs, cloud storage, damaged drives and live acquisition per OS.
Weeks 5-6

Platform artifacts and search

  • Modules 9-13: Windows event logs, Linux and Mac artifacts, web and memory forensics, regex and file signatures.
Week 7

Mobile, eDiscovery, lab and reporting

  • Modules 14-17, then timed 100-question practice sets at a two-hour pace.

Adjust the pacing to your background. A seasoned Windows examiner may compress weeks 5-6 but should add time on Linux, Mac and the eDiscovery and lab-protocol modules. For a printable recap before test day, use the C)DFE cheat sheet, and compare this exam against the wider landscape in What Is C)DFE Certification?. When you are ready to test yourself, start with the C)DFE practice exams.

Key Takeaway

Prepare for the Mile2 C)DFE as a breadth exam. With 17 unweighted modules and 100 questions in roughly two hours, uniform coverage of technical, legal and lab-procedure topics beats deep specialization in one area.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does C)DFE stand for?

It stands for Certified Digital Forensics Examiner, a certification from Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute. The same credential is sometimes written CDFE without the parenthesis.

How many questions are on the exam and what score do I need?

The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, runs about two hours without a pause, and requires a minimum score of 70%. Mile2 does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored.

Do I have to take the training course before the exam?

No. Mile2 allows the exam to be purchased without the training. The optional five-day course earns 40 CEUs and includes 17 labs, and Mile2 suggests one year of computer experience plus the C)SP course and Foundational Course Pack as helpful background.

Is there a hands-on practical portion?

Not as a separately scored exam. The course labs support learning, but the published materials describe the certification exam as the 100-question multiple-choice test taken online through your Mile2 account.

How long does the certification last and how is it renewed?

The certification is valid for three years. Mile2's renewal policy summary describes 60 documented CEUs over the cycle, an ethics/policies acknowledgment and a fee (published as USD 200 for the U.S. region), or a qualifying examination-based route. The course PDF words the requirement differently, so verify the current policy with Mile2 before renewing.

Ready to pass your C)DFE exam?

Put this into practice with free C)DFE questions across every exam domain.