- What the C)DFE Credential Actually Is
- Who Issues It and How It Is Delivered
- The Exam Format at a Glance
- The Seventeen Preparation Areas
- Fees, Vouchers and Registration Mechanics
- Prerequisites and Who Should Sit It
- Staying Certified: The Three-Year Cycle
- Where the Credential Fits in a Forensics Career
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Frequently Asked Questions
- C)DFE here means Certified Digital Forensics Examiner, issued by Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute, not any other credential sharing the acronym.
- The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in about 2 hours, with a 70% minimum passing score.
- Mile2 publishes 17 course modules but no verified weighted exam blueprint, so study every module evenly.
- The certification is valid for 3 years; the published U.S. renewal fee is USD 200.
What the C)DFE Credential Actually Is
The C)DFE is the Certified Digital Forensics Examiner certification from Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute. Mile2 styles it "C)DFE" (the closing parenthesis is part of the brand convention), and you will also see it written simply as CDFE. It validates that a candidate understands how digital evidence is identified, acquired, preserved, examined, analyzed and presented in a way that holds up to scrutiny.
A quick word of caution: several unrelated credentials in the security and forensics world abbreviate to the same letters. Exam fees, domain structures, pass statistics and renewal rules differ from one issuer to the next. Everything on this page refers only to the Mile2 certification. If you are comparing material you found elsewhere, confirm the issuer before trusting any number. For a deeper look at the naming, see our explainers on what C)DFE stands for and the C)DFE meaning.
Who Issues It and How It Is Delivered
Mile2 delivers the exam through its own online learning management system (historically referred to as MACS) rather than through a named external testing-center vendor. In practice that means the exam is taken online through your candidate account. Mile2's standard exams generally do not require scheduling a live-proctor appointment, and the C)DFE is not identified among the exceptions listed in the sponsor's FAQ.
Technical requirements are modest but strict: a current version of Chrome and a stable internet connection. Because the clock does not pause, connection reliability matters more than it would at a physical testing center. Whether the exam is open-book, whether a calculator is permitted, and whether any adaptive-testing rules apply are not officially verified in the sources we reviewed, so confirm those policies in your Mile2 account before exam day rather than assuming.
The Exam Format at a Glance
| Attribute | C)DFE Detail |
|---|---|
| Issuer | Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute |
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Time allowed | About 2 hours, no pause |
| Minimum passing score | 70% |
| Delivery | Online through the candidate's Mile2 LMS account |
| Voucher validity | One year |
| Candidate pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Two minutes per question is a comfortable pace for recall questions but tighter for scenario items, such as deciding which acquisition approach fits a given situation. The questions are designed to test applied understanding of the forensic process, so expect wording that asks what an examiner should do next or which action best preserves evidential integrity. For a closer look at what the passing line means in practice, read our guide to the C)DFE passing score, and for a realistic read on difficulty, see how hard the C)DFE exam is. Because Mile2 does not publish a pass rate, our C)DFE pass rate article explains what can and cannot be said about the numbers.
The Seventeen Preparation Areas
Mile2's current official outline is a six-page document listing 17 course modules. An important honesty note: the sponsor has not published weighted exam domains or a numbered exam version. The 17 modules below are the best available preparation scope, but they should be treated as unweighted study categories, not an official examination blueprint. Because the highest-weighted area is unknown, avoid the temptation to over-invest in your favorite topics.
Foundations: Incidents, Theory and Standards (Domains 1-3)
Domain 1: Computer Forensics Incidents
The grounding in why digital forensics exists and what kinds of cases examiners see.
- Origins of digital forensic science
- The legal system and how it intersects with digital evidence
- Types of cybercrime incidents
- Internal and external threats
Domain 2: Computer Forensic Investigative Theory
The reasoning frameworks behind an investigation, not just the tools.
- Investigative theory and investigative concepts
- Behavioral evidence analysis (BEA)
- Equivocal Forensic Analysis (EFA)
Domain 3: Computer Forensic Prerequisites and Standards
What must be in place before touching a device.
- Investigative prerequisites
- Scene management
- Industry standards (the course draws on published guidance such as NIST 800-101 and ISO/IEC 27037 as training context)
Process, Protocols and Tools (Domains 4-6)
Domain 4: Computer Forensic Investigative Process
The backbone of the whole certification. Know the sequence cold.
- Foundations of the digital forensics process
- Identification and scope
- Collection and preservation
- Examination
- Analysis and interpretation
- Documentation and interim reporting
- Quality control and review
Domain 5: Forensic Examination/Evidence Protocols
- Science applied to forensics
- Digital evidence categories
- Evidence admissibility
Domain 6: Digital Acquisition and Analysis Tools
- Acquisition procedures
- The Computer Forensics Field Triage Process Model (CFFTPM)
- Evidence authentication
- Forensic tools
- AI and forensics
Storage and Live Systems (Domains 7-8)
Domain 7: Disks and Storages
- Disk, OS and file systems
- Spinning disk forensics versus SSD forensics (with a mention of IoT)
- Cloud storage
- Handling damaged drives
Domain 8: Live Acquisitions
- Principles of live acquisition
- Windows, macOS and Linux/UNIX acquisition
- Cloud and virtualization acquisition
Operating System and Artifact Work (Domains 9-13)
Domain 9: Windows Forensics
- Windows Event Viewer overview
- EVTX and legacy EVT logs
- Log analysis to identify breaches and attacks
Domain 10: Linux Forensics
- Linux file system structure
- Basic identifiers
- Common log files
Domain 11: MAC Forensics
- OSX file system structure
- Default apps
- Other artifacts
Domain 12: Specialized Artifact Recovery
- Windows components with investigative interest
- Files containing historical information
- Web forensics
- Memory forensics
Domain 13: Advanced Search Strings and File Signatures
- Search strings
- Regular expressions (REGEX)
- File signatures: formats, headers and hex analysis
Mobile, Legal Process, Lab and Courtroom (Domains 14-17)
Domain 14: Mobile Forensics
- Forensic process for mobile devices
- Tools
- IoT and wearables
- Legal considerations
Domain 15: eDiscovery
- eDiscovery concepts
- Laws and regulations
- The eDiscovery process
Domain 16: Computer Forensic Laboratory Protocols
- Forensics workstation preparation
- Lab standard operating procedures
- Quality assurance, quality control and peer review
- Annual review, deviations and lab intake
Domain 17: Digital Evidence Presentation and Reporting
- The best evidence rule
- Hearsay
- Authenticity and alteration
- Report sections and content
For commentary on how these areas interlock, see our companion article on the complete guide to all 17 C)DFE content areas.
Fees, Vouchers and Registration Mechanics
Pricing is one of the areas where care is needed. Mile2's own sponsor-authored Udemy listing, updated January 2026, states USD 400 for the exam. However, the current direct U.S. checkout price was not exposed in the sources we reviewed, so treat USD 400 as a published reference point rather than a guaranteed checkout figure. Mile2 does not publish a member versus non-member split.
The sponsor's current FAQ describes an Exam Combo that includes a guide, a practice simulator and two attempts. Do not substitute reseller package prices for these terms; verify directly with Mile2. Once purchased, the exam voucher is valid for one year, which gives you a defined window to prepare and test. A fuller breakdown of the cost picture is in our C)DFE certification cost article, and scheduling considerations are covered in C)DFE exam dates.
Prerequisites and Who Should Sit It
The C)DFE has a notably open door. There is no mandatory degree, no verified employment-hour threshold and no reference requirement. Mile2 suggests (rather than demands) the following background:
- At least one year of computer experience
- The C)SP course
- The Foundational Course Pack
Crucially, the sponsor allows you to purchase the exam without taking the training. The optional five-day course earns 40 CEUs, but those CEUs describe training and are not an indicator of exam length or content weighting. Our C)DFE requirements guide covers eligibility in more detail.
| Candidate profile | Likely fit |
|---|---|
| IT or help desk staff moving toward forensics | Strong: the curriculum builds from incident basics up to artifact analysis |
| SOC or incident response analysts | Good: formalizes evidence handling, chain of custody thinking and reporting |
| eDiscovery or legal support professionals | Good: Domains 5, 15 and 17 map directly to their work |
| Experienced examiners with tool-specific certs | Useful for vendor-neutral process and lab-protocol grounding |
Staying Certified: The Three-Year Cycle
The certification is valid for three years. The published U.S.-region renewal fee is USD 200, and potentially USD 100 for eligible developing regions. Current renewal policy describes a route of 60 documented CEUs over the cycle, an ethics/policies acknowledgment and the fee, or alternatively a qualifying examination-based route.
Where the Credential Fits in a Forensics Career
Employers who value the C)DFE tend to be organizations with in-house incident response, corporate investigations, legal-support or compliance functions, as well as consultancies and government-adjacent contractors that need vendor-neutral evidence-handling knowledge. Typical roles include digital forensic examiner, forensic analyst, incident responder, eDiscovery specialist and investigations support staff.
The curriculum's emphasis on lab protocols, quality control, peer review and courtroom reporting signals what hiring managers can expect: someone who understands that findings must survive cross-examination, not just that artifacts can be found. We do not quote earnings figures here because reliable, issuer-specific numbers are not available; see our analyses of C)DFE salary expectations, C)DFE jobs and whether the C)DFE is worth it for a qualitative treatment.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Because the exam is a broad survey with no known domain weights, a sequence that moves from concepts to artifacts to courtroom works well. Here is one way to schedule the domains over six weeks:
Foundations
- Domains 1-3: incident types, BEA/EFA theory, scene management and standards
- Why first: the vocabulary here underpins every later domain
Process and Protocols
- Domains 4-5: memorize the seven-stage process and admissibility concepts
Acquisition and Storage
- Domains 6-8: CFFTPM, SSD versus spinning disks, live acquisition by OS
Operating System Artifacts
- Domains 9-13: Windows logs, Linux and macOS artifacts, REGEX and file signatures
Mobile, eDiscovery, Lab and Reporting
- Domains 14-17: mobile/IoT, eDiscovery, lab SOPs, best evidence and hearsay
Timed Practice
- Full 100-question simulations in a two-hour window; review every miss by domain
For a full methodology, see our C)DFE study guide, and keep the C)DFE cheat sheet handy for last-minute review. When you are ready to test yourself against exam-style questions, our C)DFE practice tests let you drill by domain and simulate the 100-question format.
Key Takeaway
Do not treat the labs-heavy training as a signal that the exam is hands-on. The certification test is 100 multiple-choice questions, so practice recognizing correct procedure in written scenarios, especially around the investigative process, acquisition choices and evidence admissibility.
Frequently Asked Questions
In this context it stands for Certified Digital Forensics Examiner, a certification offered by Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute. Other credentials use similar abbreviations, so always confirm the issuer.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, takes about two hours without a pause, and requires a minimum score of 70%. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.
No. Mile2 allows candidates to purchase the exam without training. The optional five-day course earns 40 CEUs and is suggested alongside the C)SP course and Foundational Course Pack, but it is not mandatory.
The published materials do not establish a separately scored practical exam. The training includes labs for learning, but the certification exam is multiple choice and delivered online through the Mile2 learning management system.
The certification is valid for three years. The published U.S. renewal fee is USD 200, with a possible USD 100 rate for eligible developing regions. Renewal routes involve documented CEUs or a qualifying exam, so confirm current policy with Mile2.