C)DFE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

C)DFE Training

TL;DR
  • C)DFE is Mile2's Certified Digital Forensics Examiner credential; the exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours with a 70% minimum.
  • Mile2 allows exam purchase without training, but its official outline organizes preparation into 17 course modules.
  • The optional five-day course earns 40 CEUs; those CEUs describe training, not exam length or scoring.
  • Module headings are unweighted preparation categories, not an official weighted exam blueprint.

What "Training" Means for the Mile2 C)DFE

When people search for C)DFE training, they usually want to know one thing: what do I actually have to learn, and do I have to sit through a class to learn it? For the Certified Digital Forensics Examiner credential from Mile2 Cybersecurity Institute, the answer is split in two. There is an official course that maps to the certification, and there is a separate exam that Mile2 lets you purchase on its own. Training is therefore a choice about how you want to acquire the knowledge, not a gate you must pass through.

If you are still orienting yourself on the credential itself, the overview pieces on what C)DFE certification is and what C)DFE stands for cover the basics. This article assumes you already know the credential is about the forensic examination of digital evidence and focuses on how to train for it effectively.

Identity check: C)DFE here means Certified Digital Forensics Examiner from Mile2. Other credentials in the industry share similar acronyms. Everything below, including module names, exam format, and renewal details, applies only to the Mile2 certification, so be careful when reading forum posts or third-party summaries that may be describing a different program.

The Exam, the Voucher, and the Optional Course

Before you plan any training, understand the delivery mechanics, because they shape how you should study.

How the exam is delivered

The C)DFE exam is taken online through your candidate account on Mile2's learning management system rather than at a named third-party testing center. Standard Mile2 exams generally do not require a live-proctor appointment, and C)DFE is not identified among the exceptions in the current FAQ. You need a current Chrome browser and a stable internet connection. The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions, runs about two hours with no pause, and requires a minimum 70% to pass. Mile2 does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, and a candidate pass rate is not publicly disclosed. For a deeper look at the numbers, see the C)DFE passing score breakdown and the C)DFE pass rate discussion.

Whether the exam is open-book, whether calculators are allowed, and whether the exam adapts to your answers have not been officially verified, so do not plan around any of those assumptions. Prepare as though you must recall the material from memory.

Cost mechanics

Mile2's own sponsor-authored Udemy description, updated January 2026, states USD 400 for the exam. The current direct U.S. checkout price was not exposed when this was reviewed, so treat that figure as a reference point and confirm at purchase. There is no published member versus non-member split. Mile2's current FAQ says the Exam Combo includes a guide, a practice simulator, and two attempts. Do not assume reseller package prices match the sponsor's offer. The full picture is in our C)DFE certification cost breakdown. An exam voucher is valid for one year, which is a useful planning constraint: your training window should fit comfortably inside that year.

Is the course required?

No. Mile2 allows exam purchase without training. The suggested background is roughly one year of computer experience, plus familiarity with the C)SP course and the Foundational Course Pack. There is no mandatory degree, verified employment-hour threshold, or references requirement. Our C)DFE requirements guide goes through eligibility in more detail.

PathWhat You GetBest For
Five-day Mile2 course, then examStructured coverage of all 17 modules, 17 labs, and 40 CEUsCandidates new to forensic process, lab protocols, or legal admissibility
Self-study, then examFlexibility; you build your own plan from the module outlineWorking examiners who already handle evidence and want to fill gaps
Exam Combo (guide, simulator, two attempts)Study material, practice simulator, and a second attempt as a safety netCandidates who want structured practice without the full class
Labs are not a practical exam: The course includes 17 labs that support learning, but nothing in the published materials establishes a separately scored practical examination. The credential exam you sit is the multiple-choice test. Use labs to build understanding, not because you expect a hands-on exam component.

Modules 1-5: Building the Investigative Foundation

The first five modules are where C)DFE separates itself from a pure tools course. A large share of what you learn is process, theory, and legal reasoning. Candidates who come from a technical background and skip these sections often discover that exam questions probe judgment as much as button-clicking. For a sense of how these areas are organized, the complete guide to all 17 content areas is a useful companion.

Domain 1: Computer Forensics Incidents

This module sets the context: why digital forensics exists and what kinds of events it investigates.

  • Origins of digital forensic science
  • The legal system as it relates to digital investigations
  • Types of cybercrime incidents
  • Internal versus external threats

Domain 2: Computer Forensic Investigative Theory

Expect conceptual questions here rather than procedural ones.

  • Investigative theory and investigative concepts
  • Behavioral evidence analysis (BEA)
  • Equivocal Forensic Analysis (EFA)

Domain 3: Computer Forensic Prerequisites and Standards

This covers what must be in place before and during an investigation.

  • Investigative prerequisites
  • Scene management
  • Industry standards (the outline references NIST 800-101 and ISO/IEC 27037 as published training context; verify which revisions your materials teach rather than assuming)

Domain 4: Computer Forensic Investigative Process

This is the backbone of the whole certification. Learn the sequence cold, because other modules hang off it.

  • Foundations of the digital forensics process
  • Identification and scope
  • Collection and preservation
  • Examination
  • Analysis and interpretation
  • Documentation and interim reporting
  • Quality control and review

Domain 5: Forensic Examination/Evidence Protocols

Here the course ties science to evidentiary practice.

  • Science applied to forensics
  • Digital evidence categories
  • Evidence admissibility

A practical note: Domain 4's stages (identification, collection, examination, analysis, documentation, review) recur everywhere. When you study Windows logs or mobile extraction later, ask yourself which process stage you are in. That habit makes scenario questions far easier.

Modules 6-8: Tools, Storage, and Live Acquisition

These modules move from theory into how evidence is actually captured. The outline references commercial tools as published training context, but you should not memorize product feature lists as if they were guaranteed current. Focus on the underlying principles the tools implement.

Domain 6: Digital Acquisition and Analysis Tools

Understand acquisition as a disciplined procedure, not a software click.

  • Acquisition procedures
  • Computer forensics field triage process model (CFFTPM)
  • Evidence authentication
  • Forensic tools
  • AI and forensics

Domain 7: Disks and Storages

Know how storage media behaves, because it determines what you can recover and how.

  • Disk operating systems and filesystems
  • Spinning disk forensics
  • SSD forensics (with an IoT mention)
  • Cloud storage
  • Handling damaged drives

Domain 8: Live Acquisitions

Live acquisition raises the stakes because volatile data can vanish. Compare how each platform is approached.

  • Live acquisition fundamentals
  • Windows acquisition
  • macOS acquisition
  • Linux/UNIX acquisition
  • Cloud and virtualization acquisition

Key Takeaway

Study the reasoning behind choosing live versus dead-box acquisition and the order of volatility concepts. Exam questions in this area tend to reward understanding why you would act a certain way, not memorizing a tool's menu path.

Modules 9-13: Operating Systems, Artifacts, and Search

This is the hands-on heart of the course: what you find on Windows, Linux, and macOS systems, and how you hunt for it.

Domain 9: Windows Forensics

Windows logging is a major focus in the published outline.

  • Windows Event Viewer overview
  • EVTX and EVT logs
  • Log analysis to identify breaches and attacks

Domain 10: Linux Forensics

Linux artifacts are organized around the filesystem and logging conventions.

  • File system structure
  • Basic identifiers
  • Common log files

Domain 11: MAC Forensics

The outline treats OS X artifacts as their own topic.

  • File system structure
  • Default applications
  • Other artifacts

Domain 12: Specialized Artifact Recovery

This module gathers high-value evidence sources that cut across platforms.

  • Windows components with investigative interest
  • Files containing historical information
  • Web forensics
  • Memory forensics

Domain 13: Advanced Search Strings and File Signatures

This is a skills-heavy area that rewards practice.

  • Search strings
  • Regular expressions (REGEX)
  • File signatures: formats, headers, and hex analysis

If your day job is Windows-centric, resist the temptation to coast through the Linux and macOS modules. Because the exam spans all three operating systems, a weak platform can cost you points on questions you would otherwise find straightforward. Regular expressions and file-header analysis are also worth hands-on repetition, since reading a hex header is hard to learn passively.

Modules 14-17: Mobile, eDiscovery, Lab Protocols, and Reporting

The final modules push you from technical examination toward the professional and legal wrapper around the work.

Domain 14: Mobile Forensics

  • Forensic process for mobile devices
  • Tools
  • IoT and wearables
  • Legal considerations

Domain 15: eDiscovery

  • eDiscovery concepts
  • Laws and regulations
  • The eDiscovery process

Domain 16: Computer Forensic Laboratory Protocols

This module reads like an operations manual for a quality-minded lab.

  • Forensics workstation preparation
  • Lab standard operating procedures
  • Quality assurance and quality control
  • Peer review and annual review
  • Deviations
  • Lab intake

Domain 17: Digital Evidence Presentation and Reporting

  • The best evidence rule
  • Hearsay
  • Authenticity and alteration
  • Report sections and content
Don't skim the "soft" modules: Lab protocols, peer review, deviations, hearsay, and the best evidence rule are easy to dismiss as paperwork. Because the credential is about examiners whose work must stand up to scrutiny, these topics are fair game for multiple-choice questions and are often where technically strong candidates lose points.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the 17 Modules

Mile2 does not publish exam weights, and the highest-weighted domain is unknown, so you cannot allocate time by percentage. A sensible alternative is to sequence by dependency: process first, then acquisition, then platform artifacts, then legal and lab wrap-up. The modules below are grouped that way. This is an editorial plan, not an official blueprint, and a stretch of the course may compress or expand depending on whether you take the five-day class. For broader planning ideas, see the C)DFE study guide.

Week 1

Process and Theory (Modules 1-5)

  • Memorize the Domain 4 process stages in order
  • Learn BEA and EFA terminology from Module 2
  • Review evidence categories and admissibility
Week 2

Acquisition and Storage (Modules 6-8)

  • Compare spinning disk and SSD behavior
  • Practice live versus dead-box decision reasoning
  • Review CFFTPM and evidence authentication
Week 3

Platform Artifacts (Modules 9-13)

  • Work through EVTX/EVT logs and breach identification
  • Cover Linux and macOS artifacts equally
  • Drill regular expressions and file headers
Week 4

Mobile, Legal, Lab, Reporting (Modules 14-17)

  • Review mobile, IoT, and wearable considerations
  • Study eDiscovery laws and process
  • Finish with lab protocols, hearsay, and report structure

Because the exam voucher is valid for one year, you have room to extend this schedule if you are balancing work. Candidates who find the material demanding may want to read how hard the C)DFE exam is before deciding how much runway to give themselves.

Turning Training into Exam Readiness

Training builds knowledge; practice builds exam performance. Since the real test is 100 multiple-choice questions in about two hours with no pause, you have roughly a little over a minute per question. That pace is manageable, but only if you have rehearsed it. Take timed practice sets under the same constraints: one sitting, no breaks, a stable setup that mirrors browser-based delivery.

Use practice questions diagnostically. After each set, sort missed items by module and look for patterns. If your errors cluster in Modules 15-17, the issue is likely legal and reporting vocabulary rather than technical skill. If they cluster in Modules 9-12, you probably need more hands-on artifact work. You can find realistic practice material on the main C)DFE practice test site, and a compact review aid in the C)DFE cheat sheet is handy for the last few days.

Key Takeaway

Practice-question allocation across the 17 modules is an editorial choice, not an official weighting. Spread your practice broadly, then lean harder on whichever modules your own results show are weakest.

After You Pass: Renewal and Career Context

Certification validity is 3 years. Renewal is where sources need careful reading, because they are worded differently. The Mile2 course outline lists a three-year expiration with two requirements: passing the current exam and submitting 20 CEUs per year. A separate current renewal-policy summary describes a route of 60 documented CEUs over the cycle, an ethics and policies acknowledgment, and a fee, or a qualifying examination-based renewal. The published renewal fee is USD 200 for the U.S. region, and potentially USD 100 for eligible developing regions. Treat these as differently worded sources and verify the current policy with Mile2 before you plan. Do not assume the 40 CEUs from the five-day course alone renew the credential.

On the career side, the C)DFE targets people who examine digital evidence, which maps naturally to incident response, corporate investigations, law enforcement support, and eDiscovery work. For roles and earning context, see our pieces on C)DFE jobs, the C)DFE salary guide, and whether the credential is worth it for your situation. We deliberately avoid quoting salary numbers here because none are established in the published certification materials.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I have to take the Mile2 course before the C)DFE exam?

No. Mile2 allows you to purchase the exam without taking the training. The suggested background is about one year of computer experience, plus the C)SP course and Foundational Course Pack, but these are suggestions rather than mandatory prerequisites.

How long is the C)DFE exam and what score do I need?

The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions taken online in about two hours with no pause. The minimum passing score is 70%. Mile2 does not disclose the scored versus unscored split or a public pass rate.

Does the five-day course count toward renewal?

The optional five-day course earns 40 CEUs, but those describe training. They should not be assumed to renew the credential on their own. Renewal sources are worded differently, so confirm the current policy and fee with Mile2.

Is there a hands-on practical exam?

Nothing in the published materials establishes a separately scored practical examination. The course includes 17 labs that support learning, but the certification exam itself is the multiple-choice test.

Are the 17 modules the official exam domains?

The 17 modules come from the current Mile2 course outline and prepare you for the exam, but they are unweighted preparation categories, not an official weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint. Mile2 has not published numerical weights.

Ready to pass your C)DFE exam?

Put this into practice with free C)DFE questions across every exam domain.